Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Rudra Gayatri

Shiva the name of the Lord is a mantra. The meaning of Shiva is "One Who is all Bliss and the giver of happiness to all." Lord Shiva e is considered as one of the Trinity of Hindu pantheon (Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva). He is the supreme God in the Saiva religion (one among the six cults or religion or Shanmatha established by Adi Sankaracharya) or Saiva Siddhanta tradition of Hinduism. His name is referred as Rudra in Rig veda. ‘Although classically applied to the Absolute Brahman, Shiva can also refer to God (Ishwara) in His aspect of Dissolver and Liberator (often mistakenly thought of as "destroyer")’.
The icon Shiva linga is considered as the abstract form of Lord Shiva. Another icon Nataraja is represent Him as Lord of Dance. The Moola Mantra of Lord Shiva is Om Namashivaya. It is known as ‘Panchaksharam’ of five letter mantra. It forms exactly the central part of Sri Rudram and Sri Rudram forms the center part of Yajur Veda.
Rudra Gayatri
Aum Bhur Bhuvah Swaha
Aum Tadpurushaaya Vidvamahe,
Mahadevaaya Dheemahi
Tanno Rudra Prachodayaat
Aum. Let us invoke the three realms of earth (-bhur), wind (-bhuvah) and fire (-swaha). Aum. Let us invoke the superlative (-tad) male (-purusha) and omniscient lord (-vidvamahe). Let us meditate and focus upon (-dheemahi) the supreme (-maha) lord (-devaaya). Let us ask Shiva (-rudra) to provide us inspiration and guidance (-prachodayaat) in our spiritual journeys.

Related Post: Gayatri on other Deities
Ganesha Gaytrai

Shiva Gayatri
Sri Gayatri
Sri Shanmuga Gayatri


Lekshmi Dharmarajan said...

dear sir, i have a doubt that i would be grateful if you would clear for me since i am just a beginner. why do we invoke the three realms of earth as earth, fire, and wind.. why not water? i hope my question is not too naive, i would however deeply appreciate an answer from you

thanks a lot,

Chakraborty Indranil said...

My Dear Lakshmi, I am so pleased too find an inquisitive mind. In fact Vur is sawarg (Heaven), Bhuba (Marta or prithivi) and Sahwa is Patal of 7 types. Its not what the writer has described. Your question is vary valid. Please refer to Bramha puran, you shall find out about 5 indrias, eye, ear, nose, tongue and skin. Air can be felt (skin) and smelt (nose), Akash can be seen (eye) and heard (gorgone), Water can be felt (skin), tasted tongue), heard (ear), fire can be felt(skin), seen (eye), heard (ear). BUT the big one in Earth (dharitri) you can see, smell, hear, taste, and touch thus mother.

dal chand said...

shiva god
12 jyotrilinga
vrindavan chandrodaya mandir
makka madina
Shiv Aarti
Shiv chalisa
om jai shiv omkara
har har mahadev